Training begins

Before the New Year began I thought it wise to begin my training for the hike to start 2013 off on a good foot. Not only did I start reading ‘Wild’ by Cheryl Strayed who solo hiked the trail for 3 months back in 1995, I also got out and walked. My first official training hike took place with friends Josie, Katie and Amy in Booderee National Park in the ACT. We walked a 12km circuit from Steamers Beach parking, down to Whiting Beach for a quick swim before walking back around to Steamers Beach and back to the parking. I found a great walking stick which after growing quite attached to we used as fire wood much to my dismay. Can’t imagine taking a large wooden stick from the Australian bush over to the US anyway I suppose.

My second walk took place yesterday on the Great Southern Rail Trail with my mum down in Foster, VIC in the high 30 degree heat. We were averaging 1km every 10.5 minutes but we were walking on a pretty flat trail without a pack. Sadly I was still wearing my regular runners after returning my Saloman shoes to Kathmandu on Boxing Day.

On Monday I plan to begin my training at the Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre (MSAC) who have ever so kindly given me full membership until the end of April to train for my hike. I trained at MSAC in 2011 before climbing Mt Kilimanjaro so I’m looking forward to getting back into the Peloton and Yoga classes, and hitting the gym and swimming pool. I’m also planning to incorporate 10km of walking each day while getting to and from work in South Melbourne during January.

GSRT

My second official training walk on 03 Jan 2013

Leave a Reply

