Heavens open on my PCT bible

Today was the first real day of rain in Melbourne all year and boy did it bucket down. Unlucky for me I was just leaving work when dark clouds literally rolled in from nowhere and enveloped the city. After a few warning drops the heavens opened and my measly umbrella didn’t stand a chance. It was only by the time I was completely saturated that I remembered I had a cover for my backpack and quickly took cover under a bus shelter alongside two British lads drinking white wine out of plastic cups.

With the cover on my pack I re-entered the onslaught only to realise that Yogi’s Handbook was in my backpack. It was too wet to check on it then and there, so I waited until I got home to assess the damage.

I’m sorry to say the book is so wet the cover started crumbling away in my hands. I have it propped up on a tissue box in my room in the hope that 1. it will dry (preferably by tomorrow morning) and 2. all the pages won’t be stuck together!!!

IMG_1904

The book is soaked from Echo Lake all the way down to the border of Mexico!

IMG_1903

The cover crumbling away.

Leave a Reply

