Wilderness First Aid

firstaidkitThanks to Amy and Katie’s persistance I’ve finally prioritised First Aid on my To Do list! The urgency was sparked while reviewing the PCTA website where First Aid features on their homepage. Reading through the list of topics I realised just how little I knew, and just how much I’m lacking in any kind of First Aid expertise.

Conveniently for me the Wilderness Medicine Institute recommended by the PCTA has a Wilderness First Aid Course in San Diego, CA on the 13th & 14th of April (concluding one day before I plan to hit the trail). For $250 USD the course will cover the following topics:

  • Patient Assessment System
  • Evacuation Plans and Emergency Procedures
  • Spinal Cord Injuries
  • Shock
  • Head Injuries
  • Wilderness Wound Management
  • Athletic Injuries
  • Fracture Management
  • Dislocations
  • Cold Injuries
  • Heat Illness
  • Altitude Illness
  • Lightning
  • The Medical Patient
  • Anaphylaxis
  • Wilderness First Aid Kits

I figure it’s a small price to pay for my own (and likely your) piece of mind. Plus I’ve already learned what Anaphylaxis means so it’s already paying off!

Leave a Reply

