The countdown is on!

Aside from downloading topographic maps on my iPhone, mending holes in my tent mesh, purchasing random bits of gear on mum and dad’s credit card, creating complex resupply spreadsheets, practising my daily back and glute exercises from the Osteo and planning my first ever solo overnight hike, my time in Sydney has been quite relaxed.

Hat

My new French Foreign Legion style hat for the desert.

I am suppressing some pretty major one month to go anxieties which vary between ‘I’m almost there’ to ‘holly crap there’s still so much to read, plan and do’. In the last week I’ve settled on a start date for the trail (Thursday April 18), secured a lift to the Mexico/US border (thanks to Don and Donna in San Diego), finally purchased travel insurance from World Nomads (who did confirm they would insure me for the trail), booked a car in San Diego, secured pick up from Vancouver airport (thanks BJ), educated myself about bear safety, and hiked with my ULA pack for the first time.

On Friday mum and I walked from their apartment in Manly to the Spit Bridge (approx 7.5km) along the Manly Scenic Walkway. I carried my pack with about 4L of water, tent, sleeping mat, sleeping bag and clothing, weighing close to 8kg.

IMG_2245My lower back was still giving me grief so the walk there was quite painful, requiring two Nurofens to keep me going. The scenery was beautiful though and we past at least a dozen lizards along the way. It took us 2.5 hours to get to a little cafe near the Spit Bridge where dad brought us a homemade wrap for lunch (won’t be getting this kind of service on the trail) and we enjoyed a COFFEE (still not sure how I’m going to live without it).

Dad drove mum home and I tackled the return journey solo. I used hiking poles going back which made an incredible difference to my speed and the pressure on my back, getting me home in 1.5 hours. Tomorrow I’m going to set off on a two-day, 34km hike starting from Thornleigh to Cowan.

IMG_2247

Stunning views looking back towards Manly.

IMG_2236

The ULA pack and solar panel in action.

IMG_2230

Mum and I ready for some serious hiking alongside shirtless joggers and mums with strollers.

3 thoughts on “The countdown is on!

  1. Hi Rozanne! Must be fun training with your mother!
    We also did a part of Manly scenic walkway when we weer at Sydney!
    Succes for your next hike!!

  2. Hi darling, it was a lot of fun to do the hike to the Spit, I had never done it yet. It was not as difficult as I thought it would be. I hope that it won’t be too quiet when you walk on your own, because our chatting and laughing went nearly the whole way. You are amazing though, a heavy pack and a painful back, and marching you go on, fantastic. Success for your next hike here in Sydney. So lovely to have you with us this whole week. Love Mutti xx

Leave a Reply

