Great North Walk – Thornleigh to Cowan (Day 1)

I crawled into camp tonight like a wobbly four legged spider, walking poles flailing in front and my legs dragging behind. Today was the most challenging 20km walk I’ve ever done, add a 14kg pack and 9 hours of walking and you can understand why I fell short of my actual target.

I’ve stopped about 30 mins from the Crosslands Reserve campsite, in a little clearing with no facilities just beyond a group of young women on a canoe expedition. There are a few freaky noises outside the tent including growling, scratching, the odd branch snap and a whole host of activity going on in the reservoir I’m next to.

Today was full of adventure, lunch with a group of lizards after a quick dip in the lagoon, an encounter with a tree snake, walked through a rifle range amid the sounds of gun shots, getting lost a couple of times and setting up the tent while fending off swarms of mosquitos! I snacked all day and now don’t feel like eating dinner plus I haven’t peed since lunch which means the 3L of water I drank wasn’t enough. Luckily when I finally reach the Crosslands campsite tomorrow I can fill up my water bladder.

The ground is pretty soft so I haven’t bothered blowing up my sleeping mat. I’m just lying on it with my sleeping bag on top. It’s so hot I doubt I’ll need my -10 degree bag!

I may venture out to pee before bed and will hopefully avoid the anaconda in the river and the growling gremlin outside!

20130311-205231.jpg

20130311-205258.jpg

20130311-205421.jpg

20130311-205129.jpg

20130311-205034.jpg

20130311-205338.jpg

20130311-205620.jpg

20130311-210453.jpg

2 thoughts on “Great North Walk – Thornleigh to Cowan (Day 1)

  1. Hi darling, such a testing trail you did today. Getting your legs used to climbing, your ears used to hear strange noises around in the night and your stomach wanting all those little snacks. Luckily the snake liked the tree more then you and the lizards seemed to be very curious. To be a night out alone, well done. Love Mutti xx

Leave a Reply

