Outback cooking

I finally cooked a real outdoor hiking meal today in the backyard using my stove. The wind was pretty fierce, blowing my measuring cup and plastic bag across the garden. Good training. I used a recipe I thought of walking to the train station yesterday, nothing fancy, just oats, coconut, cinnamon and LSA. I would also add powdered soy milk and some kind of sweetener (coconut sugar?) for the real gig.

IMG_2473

Highly technical ingredients.

I mixed up one cup of oats, 1/4 cup coconut, a healthy sprinkle of cinnamon and some LSA. Then I took all the elements into the garden for the test run.

IMG_2479

I’ve nailed lighting the stove at least.

IMG_2480

Waiting for the 1 1/2 cups water to boil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m still trying to get through it all. One cup is WAAAAY too much and considering I’ll have to carry out any uneaten leftovers I’ll be going with 1/2 cup moving forward. The other very helpful lesson I learned was when I sealed my container to shake up the water and contents, boiling water and oat juice came seeping out the sides spraying all over me. Won’t be repeating that.

IMG_2483

My leaky container after a good shake.

IMG_2484

The final product.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Conclusions? Very easy to prepare and package but I feel pretty disgusting after eating it. Sugar or sweetener needed and keep up the variety, I can see this getting old very quickly.

4 thoughts on “Outback cooking

  1. Hi darling, I am so pleased that you have tried your cooking skills. Not a nice experience with shaking the container with food, it was probably the hot water which did it. Surely don’t want that to happen in “Bear Land”, you would become an easy prey and you don’t want a licking bear around you. For sweetness you can always use raisins, if you have space for them. You are getting well organized for your great adventure, well done. A few more sleeps in OZ. . Hugs and cuddles, love Mutti xx

Leave a Reply

