The first shop and cook-up

After a lazy boozy day with my mate BJ yesterday, I got into full action this afternoon immediately after arriving at Sarah’s. While Steve her partner had time to watch the two kids, we jumped into her van to our first stop, Famous Foods. This place was like nothing I’d ever seen, the only words fitting for such a place are ‘hiker heaven’. The place was full of freeze dried, dehydrated, powdered pretty much anything. Onion flakes, potato flakes, peas, corn, hummus, soy milk, you name it. I felt like a deer in headlights as Sarah raced me around the store making recommendations, throwing this and that into the basket.

IMG_2532

Sarah scooping me some soup powder at Superstore.

Before being able to process what had happened we were at destination number two, Superstore. The name says it all! This was the place for bulk stuff, as well as aisles and aisles of nuts, powdered soups, granola varieties, sweets, savouries, anything; all in big tubs that you simply spoon the portion you desire into a plastic bag.

IMG_2534

Me at the Superstore checkout, Nescafe in hand.

IMG_2536

Food so far in my makeshift pantry.

I spent  a total of $34.63 at Famous Foods and $86.56 at Superstor. I feel we scraped the surface a little but there’s plenty more to purchase. This has given me enough to test out what I like and dislike, and to start practise making meals, which I begun this evening.

IMG_2537

Vegetable Indian curry and veggie cous cous.

I’m very glad I tested this meal. Firstly the curry was a little spicy for my sensitive taste buds and the veggies in the cous cous remained hard. Conclusions: use plain cous cous with freeze dried veggies and try a new brand of curry. I also had Lipton lemonade crystals as an alternative to water, nice, and I’m currently sitting down to a plastic lid of herbal mandarin orange spice tea.

IMG_2538

Dinner!

I have to say this is a contrast to the baked salmon, wild rice and carrot dish BJ and Mrs Brown prepared for me last night!

3 thoughts on “The first shop and cook-up

  1. Hi darling, first of all pleased that you arrived safely. My head is already spinning from all the food you can buy in those Super stores. Great that you have Sarah there, such a help she will be. Looking at your cooked meal, you may give your taste buds a 5 months holiday. A little salt and some spices can make the food taste good though. I love your little pantry, now to figure out in what kind of boxes and which post offices to send it too. Darling success in all your preparations. Love Mutti xx

  2. You two are so very cute! Can’t wait to keep track of how you’re doing on the great hike. Lots of love! xoxo

Leave a Reply

