Welcome to San Diego

I’m sitting at Starbucks enjoying an Organic Soy Frappuccino while I wait 45 minutes for Avis Car Rental to re-open. There was a sign on the door that said “picking up a customer, back at 11:30am”, and despite the fact I’m baffled that they close their entire operation for one person, that’s just the way it is. At least the sun is shining and I have wifi!

20130412-111236.jpg
On the flight down south I sat in the middle of a lacrosse team and actually recognised the coach as a man we worked closely with during the Vancouver 2010 torch relay from the Four Host First Nations. We chatted about the old team from VANOC and mused at the fact we bumped into each other on a flight from Bellingham to San Diego!

20130412-111759.jpg
As we flew over lakes and mountains I wondered if the PCT would cross some of these places. I even started reading ‘Wild’ again on my E-reader. It’s such an awesome story and reading about Cheryl’s preparation makes me feel a little better about my own.

20130412-112022.jpg
When I touched down and met Donna who was holding a sign with my name at the baggage area, the first thing she said to me was “you don’t look like a hiker”. I’m not exactly sure what that means, but I’ll take it as a compliment. When we got back to her place I met her husband Don and they introduced me to their three cats Molly, Noel and Nicholas. Despite a few allergies it’s super comfortable, they even had my name on the cup in the bathroom.

20130412-112606.jpg
Providing I get all my tasks done in the next few days I’m going to start the trail on Monday morning, just a few more days away!

4 thoughts on “Welcome to San Diego

  1. Heia, great to her you are well and ready. With so many trails I assume your next hike will be your favourite TCT Trans Canada TrailπŸ˜‰πŸ‘πŸ‘ 

  2. Hi darling, where ever you go in the world, you meet somebody you know, amazing. You do understand that what you saw out of the plane, those mountain ranges, that’s where you will be hiking. Thanks to Donna and Don, who give you a good time before your trail hike. Enjoy darling, love mutti xx

  3. Muk Muk,

    As the PCT blogs are winding down I’m going back to read your earlier posts that I missed. I’m curious what you did for the Olympics? Sounds like it involved the torch relay? My family drove up to watch the games for a week. It was so incredible, so we are well aware of the other Muk Muk. πŸ™‚ I also noticed the Oct 10th reference here. Time to high-tail it to the finish I guess! (Of course that’s what you’re trying to do anyway! πŸ™‚

    I’m rooting for you! Finish strong and safe!

    -GoalTech from Portland

Leave a Reply

