Black Friday

This is the first night on the trail where I really don’t feel like writing this blog. I wasn’t in a great headspace when we started walking early this morning at 6am but it wasn’t until around 7am that I realised that UB was in a far worse headspace than me.

20130603-185734.jpg
I’ve learned a lot about UB over these last 600 miles, but today I think he opened up on a whole new level about events that have happened in his life and some parts honestly disturbed and enraged me so much that as we hiked on I honestly lost all of my energy to even put one foot in front of the other.

20130603-185837.jpg
We walked about 4 miles before stopping to make breakfast, then another couple before I needed to stop to put on my hat and sunscreen because the heat suddenly returned in force, then again half an hour later where I actually fell asleep for a while. I felt a lot better after the quick power nap and a few snacks and took the lead for the 7 mile stretch into Walker Pass campground. We hoped there would be some water left there because we were running low and it didn’t seem we would make the 28 mile haul to the next source.

20130603-190015.jpg
About three miles down the trail UB took the lead when I detoured around a fallen tree and this is when I realised his head space hadn’t improved despite the long counselling session. He threw his hiking poles in the air and when one landed on the trail he picked it up and threw it off the side of the mountain into the trees below. I won’t go into the cause of this sudden outburst as I know he will tell his own story on his blog one day, but a little bit further down the trail he pulled to the side so I could continue on ahead.

20130603-190119.jpg
When I was in sight of the campground and could see what I hoped to be trail magic up ahead I sat in the shade and waited for UB to catch up so we could walk in together. When he reached me he was not good, and about ready to end his trail experience then and there. We talked for a while but my positive words and encouragement didn’t make much of a difference until we entered the campground to a round of applause from the other hikers sitting there in the shade enjoying food and beverages from the incredible trail angels present.

20130603-190221.jpg

20130603-190235.jpg
We were handed an ice cream sandwich, told to offload our packs and then sat down under cover to enjoy cold drinks and a table full of food. UB and I looked at one another in complete disbelief and I could tell that only human nature of this kind would be able to change his mind about the trail.

20130603-190356.jpg
Once again I over indulged on cake, chips, beer, soda and then dinner of spaghetti, chicken, polenta and salad. I donated $20 but that didn’t even seem enough given the way this trail magic transformed our day from one of the darkest to something so positive. It’s 52 miles to Kennedy Meadows from here and the challenge was set to see if anyone could make it in 24 hours. There’s no way in the world I’d even attempt it but UB, Andrew, Phil and another dude are going to depart at 6am tomorrow and give it a shot. I’m going to try my best to make it in two days given my new heel blister and the heat over the next couple of days.

20130603-190519.jpg
I’m in my sleeping bag with a terrible headache right now but I’m glad I got to write this all down. It’s been a long day but I honestly feel that hitting Kennedy Meadows will be a new beginning after the desert into the Sierras!

12 thoughts on “Black Friday

  1. Thanks for the latest updates from the trail, love your commentary as the days go by. My wife and I are following you and UB’s journey intently. Congrats on the first 600…the best is still to come. Let us know if you need anything when you get to Yosemite & North…love to help where we can.

  2. Muk Muk,

    Thank you for posting regular updates! I’m “command central” for the two Andrews. (I’m married to Flanagan.) Shortly after they began the trek, I soight outother hikers online so I could follow along with the sights, stories, and weather they are experiencing. I found UB in one the p hotos they sent home and knew it was just a matter of time before I found an Andrew in your photos. I found Flanagan in your ice cream sandwich trail angel photo. 🙂

    The Andrews have a broad net of supporters that are cheering the entire PCT2013 class along. Keep posting updates, we love reading about life on the trail.

    Send happy thoughts your way for healthy feet!
    Becca Flanagan

    • Hey so good to receive a comment from you! The Andrews are two of my favourite hikers out here. Such nice guys and an awesome hiking duo. I can’t remember if they’re ahead or behind me at the moment but we’ve bumped into each other many times. It must be hard for you to be apart and live the adventure through the blog but I hope that you are inspired by what Andrew is doing and can hopefully visit the trail too sometime! Love from the trail, Muk Muk 🙂

  3. Muk Muk,

    Thank you for posting regular updates! I’m “command central” for the two Andrews. (I’m married to Flanagan.) Shortly after they began the trek, I sought out other hikers online so I could follow along with the sights, stories, and weather they are experiencing. I found UB in one the p hotos they sent home and knew it was just a matter of time before I found an Andrew in your photos. I found Flanagan in your ice cream sandwich trail angel photo. 🙂

    The Andrews have a broad net of supporters that are cheering the entire PCT2013 class along. Keep posting updates, we love reading about life on the trail.

    Send happy thoughts your way for healthy feet!
    Becca Flanagan

    • You’re ahead of Red and Dufresne (yep, I finally learned their trail names!) for the time being. They are taking a week off trail — departing and returning at Kennedy Meadows — for a friend’s wedding near San Francisco. I’m not sure who is more excited for the week away from the trail: them (real food, regular showers, clean clothes) or me (hugging my husband!!!). I’m sure you’ll see them again as your planned hiking schedule is nearly identical to their schedule.

      It is unlike that I will join them on-trail (I enjoy a more leisurely pace, like 3 days for 16 miles in the Goat Rocks), but I will see them a couple more times before Canada. I’m delivering the Crater Lake cache drop; it seemed like a great excuse for my mom and I to take a mini-vacation from work. When they reach Mt. Hood, a long-time family friend is hosting them in the log house my father build 25 years ago. And then they will take a few days off-trail to visit Portland.

      I’ll keep tracking your progress via this blog. If you’re close in time to my boys at Crater Lake or Mt. Hood, do let me know if I can bring anything to you.

      B.

  4. Once we met a guy at the torres del paines-trail, talking about ‘trail-magic’…
    This gives an idea;-)
    Hang in there!

  5. Hi darling, so pleased that UB and you went through this black Friday together. A lot of soul searching was happening and the best thing was that UB had a friend there with him, you darling. Loved it that you together could enjoy the magic of those trail angels. They should have a golden star. Strenght for the next miles. Love Mutti xxoo

  6. HI Rozanne,
    What a wonderful treat. No wonder they call them trail angels. Hopefully they appeared at just the right time to lift up spirits. I’m enjoying traveling with you and UB from my chair at home (the best place for me). I find your blog and UBs to be complementary, although I do favor yours because of the detail with respect to travel and emotion (you are a good writer). I hope the next part of the trail will be less challenging, but (as they say) I guess challenge goes with the territory.

    Donna

Leave a Reply

