Signal from the trail gods

I unexpectedly got signal on my phone this morning and have been sitting on the same rock for about 3 hours in the sun replying to emails, comments and bouncing my mail forward from Tehachapi. I also ordered new insoles from REI to be sent to Independence (who knew feet could be so expensive and needy!)

20130606-125739.jpg
All of the shaded areas are infested with fire ants so I’m baking out here but wanted to use this opportunity for a quick update. Your comments have been truly inspiring! Because of the lack of signal I haven’t been able to respond to them all, but I love reading your reactions and feedback. Please keep it coming. I also realised in my Breakdown into KM post I hadn’t posted the Academy Award winning crying video. It’s updated now and rivals the rattle snake video for entertainment value.

20130606-130616.jpg
The Sierras are absolutely stunning and everyone seems to be quite content moving slowly through them. I left camp last again at 8:45am this morning and despite my 3 hours plus break here I haven’t seem another hiker since which I’m thoroughly enjoying. I am hoping that UB will catch up soon though and won’t be too upset that I left him behind in KM. We have talked about climbing Mt Whitney together so many times so I’m completely slowing the pace so we make it there around the same time.

20130606-131014.jpg
After climbing the peak yesterday we had another 6.7 miles to walk to water and camp. It was 6pm when we left the base and made it to camp at 8pm after motoring with our heavy packs. The gang from the night before were there sitting around a campfire and I had just enough light left to get water from the spring, find a place to camp and change into my sleep clothes. I had to cook dinner in the dark after everyone went to sleep already but thoroughly enjoyed the mac, cheese and tuna I prepared.

20130606-131608.jpg
The climb yesterday rejuvenated me and put me in high spirits that have continued into today. I think slower mornings with coffee and oatmeal are doing me well and despite my pack weight I was walking a lot better today. I had a squirrel gnaw into my trail mix today and there’s some kind or scary bee with a huge stinger that likes to fly close to me, but other than that nature has been good to me and after I post this entry I’m looking forward to some more climbing into the mountains.

20130606-132428.jpg

20130606-132128.jpg

5 thoughts on “Signal from the trail gods

  1. Rozanne…….my cousin Terry Loffelmacher did the PCT a couple years ago……actually in two parts due to a hernia…….trail name “Lone Ranger”…….so if you hear any LR comments it was him………lol…….I actually had no clue about this hiking underground going on until Terry started out from Mexico. I met up with him in Wrightwood and Aqua Dulce……saw Billly Goat and a couple other famous hikers there………I just stumbled onto your blog out of the clear blue……..you look like a strong one that can go the distance!……..so I’m betting on you and enjoying the fine pix………God Bless and don’t let the bears get ya………lol

    Larry L.

  2. Hi Rozanne,

    Looks like this part of the trail is the reward for the last leg. Awesome pics. Happy face. I guess you have a lot in common with the ‘energizer bunny’. Wish I was there.

    Donna

  3. wish i was there sitting on that rock with you. the trail is just getting good, so enjoy yourself. thakns for posting, so we can all follow you on this great adventure.

  4. Hi darling, how fortunate you are to hike through the Sierras. This wonderland of nature. So pleased that your spirits are high so you can enjoy it even more. The great part is that we all can enjoy it with you through your photos. You are the lucky one who can feel it’LoveMuttixx00

  5. Hi darling, how fortunate you are to hike through the Sierras. This wonderland of nature. So pleased that your spirits are high so you can enjoy it even more. The great part is that we all can enjoy it with you through your photos. You are the lucky one who can feel the surroundings. Enjoy and strength for the next miles, love Mutti xxoo

Leave a Reply

