Don’t stop me now

I’m back in video mode, and although uploading can take a long time, especially from the trail, it’s definitely quicker to speak than to write! The pain I’ve been experiencing over the last couple of days has been quite dramatic, so I wanted to give a quick update of where I’m at, now that I’ve reached Seiad Valley.

After an early start on the trail fighting my way through overgrown windflowers, I found myself on the ground as the pain in my leg and hip had crept back a lot earlier than expected.

The pain eased after this short break, but lingered just enough to constantly remind me it was there. Somehow I managed to push myself through 20 miles before I hit the final stretch of road into Seiad Valley.

I spent the entire road walk singing or talking out aloud to myself, both to distract myself from any pain but also to keep myself entertained. The conversations became more and more absurd as the time rolled by.

Miraculously my hip held out for the whole road section, but about a mile out from the RV park where I’m camped, I started developing a pain in my right shin. Don’t start with shin splints now body! Why is everything breaking down all of a sudden? I spent most of the evening with ice on my right shin talking to Bill who has a huge crack on the ball of his foot. He’s already completed the trail twice I recently learned, but he says his ego would like to finish a third time. Unbelievable! We talked about the 5,000 foot climb over 7 miles out of the valley. It’s hot and exposed so it’s probably best done early morning. I recognise my body needs rest, but it’s costing me $10 to camp on the lawn next to many other snoring hikers when I could just go a couple of miles back to the trail. We’ll see what tomorrow brings…

20130805-012537.jpg

20130805-012553.jpg

20130805-012606.jpg

20130805-012639.jpg

20130805-012653.jpg

20130805-012705.jpg

20130805-012719.jpg

20130805-012729.jpg

14 thoughts on “Don’t stop me now

  1. MukMuk I love your touristy advertisement about Seiad Valley. Makes me want to get there right now… 😉 Well at least to meet you! Try to get some rest Duderina. Maybe that is what your body is trying to tell you? Thinking of you out there from my now fresher little Norway, and sending you a big big fresh hug (is this possible?) 🙂

      • Yes he is just blazing. I am impressed! He is now in Chester. Basically he hikes stretches of about a week (or a bit more), and takes a full zero when he hits town. It seems to work perfect for him. He got really thin too…

  2. As Anne says,listen to your body. It appears to be telling you about the need for a little rest and recuperation. Hopefully you might find some reliable advice about the condition you have developed but maybe some rest and reflection will be good. Take care that the powerful mental drive you need and have is not more than the physical body frame can take. Maybe if you drop down a gear and understand that the body signals indicate a need for recuperation and rest you will not endanger your condition for the road ahead. Don’t let fear of failure overwhelm the need to consider the essential elements of physical condition you need to preserve for the road ahead. You have time – use it wisely.

    • Thanks Dadda wise words. All I can do is listen to the body, and I will ensure that the mind does its best to listen and respond accordingly. My mind was already crossing into Oregon so I need to pull it back a day or two! 🙂

  3. Re your shin – you’ve probably changed how you’re walking to try to alleviate your hip pain, and that new way of walking is aggravating your shin (and could potentially even exacerbate your hip). Maybe try to concentrate on walking normally, and see if some of the symptoms lift. And yes, take a few zeros! Have fun out there!

  4. I have had two hip replacements and I know your pain. The sciatic nerve gets inflamed and the pain will shoot down your whole leg. Cold or ice, ibuprofen with a zero day should set you right for a bit. Listening to you walk, I don’t detect a hitch in your stride, but have an orthopedist look at the hip. If there is a structural problem, continued walking won’t help. He will xray and examine and maybe give good drugs.
    following you and carrot and spark. You are one tough lady, but be smart.

  5. Muk Muk, so sorry to hear about your hip pain. I had shin splints just before Etna. Cried like you. Somehow the trail in that area really does mess with the body.

    I can only confirm what Jenn said. Do not try to walk any differently. This will most likely cause secondary injuries such as shin splints due to overcompensation. Been there, done that.

    As I suggested in my last comment: Really do consider taking a few days off. TIme-wise you can easily afford it. You have been doing very high mileage days ever since the end of the Sierra Nevada. Your body can only take that for so long. Been there, done that, too.

    I think the whole thing will go away after a few zeroes and hopefully in a week you will have forgotten about it. But if rest does not help, maybe seeing a doctor is not the worst idea. But you know what doctors usually say to hikers: You get pain from hiking? Well, then don’t hike no more!

    I really hope you can get this behind you soon.

    One more tip for the climb out of Seiad Valley: It is indeed brutal. Don’t even think about doing it during the heat of the day. I had to because I had the f***ing Friday post office deadline in Ashland. Took me 10 liters of waters to make it up there (4 to drink, 6 to pour over myself).

    Wide Angle

  6. Your two-dollar tour guide description of Seiad Valley was priceless! Based on those ramblings I have to say that I’d LOVE to hear the other incoherent blather that you must be spouting to keep yourself sane (or not?) during the other stretches.

    Thanks as always for sharing, and I hope you feel better soon.

  7. Hi Rozanne!
    I’m very excited to see so many posts! I’m sorry that you seem to be really struggling lately with pain issues and mind issues. I think reaching Oregon will help turn things around.

    I cant help but notice the way things have changed. During your hike in Southern California, it seemed like you were meeting people all the time and hiking with them and forming connections, etc. Now it seems that doesn’t happen. I’m guessing other hikers are struggling with their mind and body at this point in the hike as well. And maybe there are just fewer hikers out on the trail. I’m not sure, but I’m so happy that you keep hiking along and you keep filling us in on your joys and struggles.

    I’m also sad that you won’t be meeting up with UB, I was really looking forward to you two reuniting on the trail, but it doesn’t look like that will happen (maybe I’m wrong).

    Cheering you on from Southern California!
    Sarah

  8. I’m just catching up on your blogs …ouch!

    If that $10/night campground comes with running water, easy access to the cafe and general store, warm showers, and the river for cooling off and soaking your hip, hanging out there sounds pretty good.

    Even if you could move up trail two miles to a spring/campsite for free … it seems an inexpensive first option to take a few zeros to see how a rest treats your hip.

    Maybe you can get options organized for Ashland and/or Medford before you get there where there isn’t much in the way of inexpensive camping and/or hostels.

    If I could, I would come south to get you myself. Hang in there.

  9. Hi darling, yes, don’t let the Mind run away with the Body. It seems that the Body, at the moment, can’t keep up and starts to struggle. You want to keep the Mind and Body at even key. Hopefully you can get some good care in Ashland, Lets hope for a diagnose and a solution for the pain to cease. Maybe a little concentration on how you walk and how your body behaves. You are doing fine and don’t need to rush things. Enjoy some recuperation time. Love Mutti xxoo

Leave a Reply

