9 thoughts on “Insights into life off trail

  1. Glad to hear you’re and UB are getting some well needed rest! I’m amazed as you are with the generosity of those you’ve come across. Good pickup with the Sawyer BTW. I use one and it works great – just be careful around the seams of the bags. That seems to be their weak point. Hopefully you have a spare bladder just in case.

  2. Hi Rozanne,

    I just came back from a week in the Sierras–Crabtree Lakes near Mt. Whitney. Do you remember that far back in California? 🙂 Anyways, got back home yesterday and am catching up on my friend’s blog, and wanted to pass this on from Denny:

    [A friend who hiked the PCT last year] sent me a text warning me about a hornets nest around mile 2182 that got several hikers last year. We saw several notes left by other hikers warning of the wasps and bees but we didn’t see any. The guy just ahead of us, Martin and his dog Molly each got stung several times. We just got lucky I guess.

    FYI to you and UB.

    –Ken

  3. Hi darling, how lovely to have this long rest with Chris and Charles. A lot of thought seems to go into this packing. Hard to believe that you have to pack for about 6 days of food and water in there. Keep away from those hornets nest, Ken is talking about. Success with a good start on Tuesday and enjoy being together, Love, Mutti xxoo

  4. I just got back from a backpacking trip with my husband and niece, and it was so nice to come home and read your updates 🙂 I am so glad Chris and her partner were able to rescue you guys! I can not even imagine what it would be like to have lived the tough trail life that you have been living, go back to civilization–be pampered, then have to go back….??

    I LOVED my little backpacking adventure I just got back from, if it wasn’t for my kids (and coming down with a bug) I would have loved to extend it! Hopefully one day I’ll be able to go on longer trips, but I don’t have what it takes to do what you PCT hikers do–you guys are amazing!! (I’m thinking two weeks would be my comfortable max :/)

    We didn’t leave camp until 10am each day. I kept reminding myself of the common PCT philosophy of “10 before 10” when relating my little trip to those of thru hikers. We felt like we achieved a lot if we hiked 10 miles TOTAL the whole day :/ It just provided me more insight on how hard core and impressive you guys are!

    I’m trying to wrap my head around what it would be like to be one of you. I realize I’ll never fully know, but reading blogs like yours allows me to glimpse a life that inspires me. I greatly appreciate the many peaks you give us. Thank you!

    PS I read your previous post of the guilt you were feeling. I am glad you have moved past that, you can’t change the past. You can only live in the now and try to do your best in the future. Humans all make mistakes. Mistakes can be very good though, they teach us. We learn from them. Beating yourself up I find almost never helps. I know this is easier said then done but its something to work on. (I do a yoga routine from Rainbeau Mars called Pure Tranquility every day to help me with this. This routine is great as you can load it to iPhones and do all of it in a sitting position which would work in a tent. It has great back stretches and would be awesome to do before bed.)

  5. Just another heads up on the PCT Days at the Cascade Locks, on Sept 6th & 7th, maybe the timing will work out?! We’ll see.
    Was out hiking for the 4 day weekend and meet a couple PCT hikers, Family Man and Godfather (from Scotland), it was great to talk to them. Hope your back on the trail and doing good, and watch UB and yourself, on fluid intake!

Leave a Reply

