We have come a long way

After a 28.9 mile day with over 6000 feet of climbing from Trout Creek to Blue Lake today, my whole body hurts. The lake is a popular camping spot for overnighters and the only free space I could find was near two other women; who didn’t mind me encroaching on their space if I promised to share some trail stories with them.

I was on the trail at 6:20am this morning and struggled a little getting packed up and ready in the dark. It’s taking longer and longer for the sun to come up these days so I guess I’m going to have to get used to it.

I hiked 6 miles in under two hours this morning because the terrain was so flat, but then the climbing begun. I have been feeling a little off the last couple of days and honestly thought I would need to stop and vomit on a few occasions. I wonder if it is heat related and I’m not getting enough water? There was a 10 mile stretch after Panther Creek to the next water source, but somehow I passed it and had to go another 3 miles on my 1.5 litres. I miraculously managed to do 18 miles before finally stopping for lunch just after 2pm. I was exhausted and thirsty, but happy I only had 10 more miles to do afterwards. They turned out to be very steep uphill miles however!

On the way up I was suddenly hit with the realisation that I’m in Washington, I’ve almost been on the trail for 5 months, and I’ve come such a long way! I remember during some of the first days on trail wondering how on earth I would actually walk over 2000 miles and what 5 months on trail would be like. Well now I know, and boy am I glad I’m here now and not still back at day 1 in the desert!

It’s already after 10pm as I joined the two ladies around their camp fire to tell them stories, eat their left over dinner and drink hot chocolate. I’ve got about 24 miles to get to Trout Lake tomorrow, which should be achievable given there’s a lot less climbing compared to the last couple of days. Thank goodness! Goodnight for now from mile 2213!

20130912-091346.jpg

20130912-091357.jpg

20130912-091405.jpg

20130912-091434.jpg

16 thoughts on “We have come a long way

      • Hi, last Spot was yesterday 9-11 @ 2:30p per marker info. Nothing yet since you’re replay 15 mins ago. Will keep watching for it to post.

      • Hmmm… It ain’t the first time one of my spot messages hasn’t gone through! Trying again… Let me know when it updates! 🙂

      • Will do. FYI: 1:00pm Pacific time: nothing yet. Maybe a tree-free ridge or something. Not sure how the Spot system updating works .. may take time to get thru their server? Will advise when I see something new.

  1. Hello Rozanne,

    I can’t tell you how proud I am of you and your progress, and I don’t even know you other than through your blog, which I have mentioned to you before is incredible. You’ve got a considerable amount in the piggy bank, so hopefully you can relax a little and not push too hard.

    Earlier I offered some trail magic at Stevens Pass, Hwy 2 into Skykomish. Also if you are in need of anything, I am only 45 minutes from Snoqualmie Pass, Hwy 90, and could get you to REI 30 minutes away. I am a bit further from White Pass which you are coming up on, but if you have any problems and can’t find any ready solutions please feel free to call.

    The weather is suppose to be cooling off to more normal Sept. temps and will be getting pretty cool at night so hopefully you have what you need for that. You are closing in to the finish and with so many folks following your hike, know that you are not hiking alone, just hiking solo. If I can help ease the concern over any potential delays please feel free to call or text my cell: 425-894-1154.

    I’ll follow your Spot, but if you give me a heads up, even if you don’t need assistance, I can at least be waiting with some trail magic (food and drink). I hope this doesn’t seem too forward but I have followed you and UB since the beginning and I just wanted to shake your hand and maybe be just a tiny part of your incredible journey!

    I mentioned earlier that I made something for you, so if I was lucky enough to hand it to you that would be great too!

    Tim

    • Thanks so much Tim! I’m aiming to be at Snoqualmie Pass sometime next Friday. Hope to run into you then perhaps? I do need a new tshirt but I’m going to see if I can find something in Trout Lake or maybe even White Pass. Will let you know if the REI run is in order! 🙂 Looking forward to meeting you!

  2. After all the sadness earlier in California it’s so nice to see tears of joy – you’ve come a long way physically, mentally and especially emotionally. Keep it up!

  3. I loved seeing your video talking about how far you’ve come. It makes me want to cry when I think about how far you’ve come as well. What an accomplishment! It really is an incredible feat and I feel so lucky to have been able to follow your blog the entire way. Thank you so much for posting your experiences. I hope to be able to do what you’ve done soon!

  4. Muk Muk!! Wow!!! You mentioned two words in your video to describe how you were feeling….”stoked” and “proud”. You should be!!! You have all the reason to feel those emotions. You have certainly earned it.

    I also want you to know that you have a pretty amazing following (Beyond those who are following your blog). I am sharing your story with my friends, family, and co-workers; all of whom are coming to me for updates on your progress and we are all wanting to share with you your ultimate accomplishment; which is only days away.

    You are an amazingly strong, capable and steadfast person. We are all very impressed and inspired by you. You are truly amazing and inspiring.

    Keep on hiking, and continue to enjoy and appreciate your journey.

  5. Hi darling, you brought me to tears. Such an emotion and realization of how far you have come on the Trail. You are amazing and hard to comprehend that you are hiking there in Washington State doing the last leg. I am so proud, proud, proud and speechless . Strength for the last miles, big cuddles. Love, Mutti xxoo

    • Thanks so much Mutti! All my strength and determination was learned from you! I wouldn’t be here today if I didn’t have parents who always supported and believed in me. Lots of love xxx

Leave a Reply

