Slowly drying out

It’s about 4am and my back is so sore I can no longer sleep. I’m having to wipe condensation off my phone every 10 seconds as I type this underneath my sleeping bag to keep warm.

Yesterday Bad Seed and I left camp just before 7am. It was so wet and extremely hard to put on cold damp clothes when it was still freezing cold and dark outside. Once we got moving on trail we started to warm up a little, and had agreed we would go 12 miles until we reached the Urich Camp shelter where we could hopefully dry out our gear.

The wood fire in the shelter still had some hot coals so Bad Seed attempted to restart the fire. It just didn’t seem to go, and it was so dark in the shelter with the door closed we needed headlamps to see anything. I was starving and decided to make egg burritos, but I added way too much water and ended up having a soupy egg mix on tortillas which honestly made me feel extremely sick for at least a couple of hours afterwards. I’ve been feeling pretty sick after lunch everyday and often don’t feel like eating, but I have an appetite in town and just think I’m so tired of trail food!

We were aiming for Tacoma Pass which was 30 miles from where we camped. My body has started aching in many new placed and my feet just have a constant soreness to them. I know I’m pushing my body through Washington, but it’s starting to get so cold that I’m actually a little scared about the rest of the state as we get higher into the Northern Cascades. I really don’t know how I’m going to deal with snow.

I got a tiny bit of signal yesterday and received a message from Wendy who had just made it to Manning Park. I have a slight complex that I should really be there too, as many hikers I run into these days always seem to say, ‘oh I thought you’d be finished’. I’m happy not to be finished except for the pending freezing temperatures. Bad Seed is worried too, and we spent a lot of time chatting about our gear and whether or not it’ll get us through the colder temperatures.

It’s been great having company on trail the last couple of days. 30 miles is doable but also just so much walking that it’s nice to have someone to laugh and whine with along the way, especially when the climbs get steep!

At the end of the day we needed to get water from a spring 500 feet off trail. It was already dark so we took our headlamps and bottles and set off leaving our packs behind. The trail disappeared so we had to bushwhack down to the sound of running water. On the way back we got disorientated and neither of us had our phones to show us where the trail was. We ended up backtracking to the spring and then tried again, but it was so dark and the trees were so thick it was impossible to see where we’d come from. Bad Seed started freaking out, but I figured we’d get there eventually, and to out fortune we managed to locate our packs again after our headlamps reflected on Bad Seed’s hiking pole strap. Phew!

When we got to the pass to camp we discovered an entire water cache. I had to laugh at the effort we’d just gone through to get water which had taken at least 30 minutes at the end of a very long day. We were in surprisingly good spirits even though we had to set up wet tents again. The sun did come out today but we spent so much time at the shelter trying to dry our gear in vain that we had to keep hiking afterwards if we wanted to make it the full distance.

We made dinner and went to bed around 10pm. Bad Seed saw a mouse and because both of our tent zippers have broken we made sure no food was left in our tent so we wouldn’t have any furry scurrying friends join us in the night. I slept in two layers and was still a little cold which definitely makes me nervous for the weather coming up. There are only 29 miles to Snoqualmie Pass so I’m going to do a full reassessment of my gear and make sure I have everything I need for the final 250 odd miles!

18 thoughts on “Slowly drying out

  1. Rozanne,

    Wasn’t sure if you were going to make Snoqualmie Pass on Thursday or Friday. Your Spot didn’t update for 24hrs. I can still shuttle you to REI if you are in need of any gear changes or additions. Give me a call/text, I can still come up to the pass and at least buy you lunch or dinner, I’m free to do so any time on Friday. Happy to help you and anyone else who needs anything.

    Tim

  2. Hi darling, I am so pleased that you are traveling with Bad Seed. It makes its easier when you want to do a lot of miles. Maybe you can throw out the little T-shirts and get some thermal clothes to wear, it seems that you are getting in colder territory. Have gloves and beanies ready and stay warm. Nearly there but don’t forget about your health, your body still has to make it. Stay safe and I wish you lots of strength. Love you, Mutti xxoo

  3. Not sure when you are going to hit Stevens pass, I don’t think it will take a week like most non PCT hikers, but anyway, text me if you want or need anything. It’s not a lone drive from my location. I can also run you and or Bad-Seed or anyone else for that mater into Skykomish to pick up mail drops or food or what ever!

    Wolf 425-314-4781
    Keep Hiking and try to stay dry!

    • Thanks mate! I’m hoping to hit the hwy there on Monday afternoon so hopefully there’ll be some decent traffic at that time. Will call if I get stuck. Would love to meet you either way though so I’ll text you soon to figure something out!

  4. HI Rozanne,

    Glad you have someone to suffer with. I thought the weather would turn, but no! Good you have a stop to refit. ONLY 250 miles. GREAT! Just keep hiking.

    Donna

  5. Still cheering you on! Keep your head up, the weather up there is going to try to keep you wet. You just have to show it you mean business!
    – Ewya

  6. Suffering with a friend is so much better than solo. So glad you and Bad Seed are sharing this experience. I’m hoping for weather improvement, at least a few windows of opportunity so you can enjoy the views and miles. I definitely recommend getting the clothes you need to stay dry and warm, we don’t want to hear about Muk Muk have a problem with hypothermia. BTW, here is a link for symptoms: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/hypothermia/DS00333/DSECTION=symptoms

    I also agree with the earlier poster about putting a warm bottle of water in your sleeping bag, as well as filling up air pockets with extra clothing. I’ve also found that putting my rain jacket on top of my sleeping bag helps.

    Stay warm, stay safe and keep on trekking. I’m sending positive thoughts your way!

  7. You’re so close to the finish, Muk Muk! Woohoo!

    I’m sure you’ll hear about this once you reach Snoqualmie Pass, but a special weather statement has been issued for the Cascades. Not to deter you, but so you are aware, here it is. Sorry for the caps…the weather service does their alerts in caps. It’s gonna be chilly, snowy and rainy out. If you have a chance to add layers to your gear setup, it might be a good idea! Stay safe and happy travels.

    SPECIAL WEATHER STATEMENT
    NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE SEATTLE WA
    639 AM PDT FRI SEP 20 2013

    …FIRST DAY OF AUTUMN WILL BE STORMY FOR WESTERN WASHINGTON…

    A STRONG BUT FAST MOVING PACIFIC STORM WILL BRING GUSTY WINDS…
    LOCALLY HEAVY RAIN…AND FALLING SNOW LEVELS TO THE AREA ON
    SUNDAY. THE STRONGEST WINDS ARE EXPECTED OVER THE COAST AND THE
    ADMIRALTY INLET AREA NORTHWARD…WHERE GUSTS NEAR 40 MPH ARE
    POSSIBLE. MANY OF THE DECIDUOUS TREES STILL HAVE THEIR LEAVES.
    THIS COMBINED WITH STRONG…GUSTY WINDS WILL INCREASE THE RISK
    FOR SNAPPED TREE LIMBS AND BRIEF POWER OUTAGES.

    THE SNOW LEVEL IS FORECAST TO PLUMMET TO NEAR 6000 FEET BEHIND
    THE COLD FRONT SUNDAY AFTERNOON…WITH HEAVY SNOW EXPECTED ABOVE
    7000 FEET. HIKERS AND THOSE WITH OTHER OUTDOOR INTERESTS IN THE
    MOUNTAINS SHOULD BE PREPARED FOR A SUDDEN CHANGE IN THE WEATHER
    AND DRESS ACCORDINGLY.

    HEAVY RAIN AT TIMES IS ANTICIPATED ON THE COAST AND IN THE
    MOUNTAINS SUNDAY AND SUNDAY NIGHT. AMOUNTS OF 1 TO 2 INCHES ARE
    POSSIBLE ON THE COAST AND IN THE CASCADES…WITH UP TO 3 INCHES
    EXPECTED ON THE OLYMPIC RANGE…IN THE 24 HOUR PERIOD ENDING AT
    5 AM PDT MONDAY. THIS WILL LIKELY LEAD TO SHARP RISES ON A FEW
    RIVERS SUCH AS THE SKOKOMISH.

  8. So glad you have such great standby support on the last leg of your journey, Muk Muk. I think about how far you’ve come since we ran into you with our Golden, Sky, around the 4th of July near Ebbetts Pass. My son has gotten married, my daughter has gone off to college and you are still out there hiking! You go, girl. Stay safe, stay warm & dry and heed those weather warnings. By the way those Healy Hansen heavy duty long underwear are super warm and have great wicking ability. Also, REI can probably repair all of that equipment while you wait.

  9. Reading the weather posts above and also standing by to offer support! I live 1 hour from Snoqualmie Pass and less than 1/2 hour from the main REI in downtown Seattle. Happy to come pick you (and Bad Seed) up at the pass, take you into REI to get your gear fixed/pick up extra gear to deal with the weather ahead. Also a chance to have some great local coffee! Can host you both for the night or the weekend so you can shower, do laundry, EAT, etc. Then deliver you back to the trail. I know you want to leave those miles in the piggybank but if you want to wait out the storm and get better prepared this is one option.

    I live next door to a state park with hiking trails so you can stay connected to your journey to ease heading back out onto the trail. Actually saw a guy with a backpack on yesterday at the park and asked him what he was training for. He did Snoqualmie to Stevens in late July so I asked him if he is following any thru-hikers. “Do you mean Muk Muk?” was his answer! There are so many of us out here looking forward to your posts and wishing you well.

    Just let me know how I can help! 206-390-6001

  10. Hi darling, reading all those thoughts about the weather, it may be a good idea that you and Bad Seed stay close together. Keep warm and special keep dry, maybe rest more in between. Be prepared for the snow too, your mind may be able to do things, but your body has to follow too, look after that body of yours. Keep safe and I wish you lots of strength, love Mutti xxoo

Leave a Reply

